Carnisius ‘Kanavara’ Nyamutsida of Mr Pace Athletics Club and Rudo Mhonderwa of Power House Athletics Club are the winners of the Zimbabwe Republic Police, 2017 Commissioner General of Police 21 Kilometre Road Race which was recently held in Chitungwiza.

The annual race which was held at its traditional venue at Chitungwiza Town Centre attracted 192 athletes -154 males and 38 females - from different clubs and individuals across the country to compete in the event.

It was Kanavara who won it in the men’s category finishing the race in 1.04.12sec shrugging off competition from International Association of Athletics Federation (IAAF) World Championships bound Millen Matende who came second in1.04.58sec. Jacob Mugomeri of Zimbabwe Prisons and Correctional Services had to come third after completing the race in 1.04.54sec.

There was no place for another fierce contender Misheck Sithole who is last year’s edition’s first runner-up and 2017 Tanganda Half Marathon Winner who limped off after pulling a muscle at the start of the race.

Unlike in 2016 where police athletes found the going tough with only one finishing in the top 10, this year’s race saw three police athletes among the winners. Despite competing with a nagging injury, Trust Chidomaya managed fourth position in 1.06.01sec while other police athletes Munyaradzi Jari and Elijah Mabhunu completed the race in 8th and 10th position respectively.

In the ladies category, a new champion was crowned in the name of Rudo Mhonderwa. She won the race 1.15.40sec ahead of Bertha Chikanga of Mr Pace Athletics Club who finished second in 1.16.52 sec.

ZRP’s Olivia Mugove Chitate finished third in 1.17.46sec while her other teammates  Tryphine Picardo and Philippa Dube  took 7th and 10th position in a time of 1.22.17sec and 1.27.29 respectively. Last year’s winner Constance Nyasango did not participate due to an injury.

Veteran athletes and never aging Tabitha Tsatsa and Samukheliso Moyo also completed the race in the top 10 after they took 8th and 9th position respectively.

Trust Chidomaya, Munyaradzi Jari and Elijah Mabhunu conquered in the ZRP Men Open Category while in the women category Olivia Chitate, Tryphine Picardo and Philippa Dube also won prizes in the same order.

In the Wheelchair (men) Category Elford Moyo clinched first prize in 1.03.12sec while Bangajena Margret was first among women to cross the finishing line.

In Grand Masters 60+ female category Jane Kaseke (mother to ZRP’s Melody Kaseke) finished first, Winnet Pawo finishing second and third position was Agnes Mukwezalamba.

Winners walked with cash prizes.

Commissioner Nonkosi Ncube who was standing in for guest of honour Commissioner General of Police, Cde, Dr Augustine Chihuri applauded the event’s all weather sponsor, Old Mutual for their support and enjoined other stakeholders to partner the ZRP in sports.

“…I would want to appeal to other corporate stakeholders to emulate the wonderful work being done by Old Mutual in partnering the promotion of sporting programmes and other activities for the benefit of our communities,” he said.


Carnisius ‘Kanavara’ Nyamutsida 

Useful Links

parner 2
parner 5
parner 6
parner 7
parner 4
parner 8

Follow Us On

facebook_design.jpg Twitter_design.png    whatsapp_design.png

Where to find us

Police General Headquarters

Address: Cnr 7th Street and J.Chinamano Avenue
Tel: (0242) 700171

For information concerning ZRP website please write to


Your Comments