Sub Aqua Unit

The Sub-Aqua is a specialized police unit responsible for policing water bodies. The Unit aids crime investigations by retrieving bodies in cases of drowning and recovering exhibits concealed in water bodies. The Sub-Aqua Unit is located in two Support Unit districts, namely Chikurubi Depot in Harare and Fairbridge District in Bulawayo. The country’s ten provinces are therefore covered as follows;

  • Chikurubi District Sub-Aqua Unit
    • Mashonaland West Province
    • Mashonaland Central Province
    • Mashonaland East Province
    • Manicaland
    • Harare
  • Fairbridge District Sub-Aqua Unit
    • Matebeleland North Province
    • Matebeleland South Province
    • Midlands Province
    • Masvingo Province

Roles Of Sub Aqua Section

  • Retrieval of bodies
  • Underwater investigations
  • Recovery of exhibits
  • Rescuing marooned people.
  • Escort to V.I.P on boat cruises
  • Carrying out crime awareness campaigns
  • Assistance on water related disasters
Previous Mounted Unit

Connect With Us

Address and Contacts

Police General Headquarters


Cnr 7th Street and J.Chinamano Avenue, Harare

Mon – Fri: 0800 hrs to 1630 hours